Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.

“Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.”

It’s the title of an episode of my favorite television show.

It’s the title of my workout playlist.

More than that, it’s one of my many mantras.

I like to look at it as a statement that speaks true volumes:

NO ONE IS GOING TO RESCUE YOU. YOU HAVE TO BE YOUR OWN SUPERHERO.

Anybody can do it. Yes, common superheroes all have legitimate super-powers, but you have one too. It’s called confidence. It’s called determination. It’s called gumption, people!

I know, I sound like a broken record, but seriously, this week is proving that to me one lousy day at a time. For every bad day this week, I’ve turned on my workout playlist, put on my sneakers, and let it out. I’ve drawn, I’ve read, I’ve repeated this mantra over and over in my head.

Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.

It’s true, I’ve had worse days. It’s even more true that however bad you’ve got it right now, someone out there is having an even harder day than you are. I personally am reminding myself to look at each bad thing this week and saying, “Well, I’ve still got a roof over my head. I’ve still got a loving, supportive family. I’ve still got my health.” And voila! Just like that, I feel a little bit better.

You have to dust yourself off. You can’t wait for people to come and pick you up and gush about how terrible the fall must have been. Yeah, it sucked. So what? GET UP. GET YOUR DAMN CAPE. PUT IT ON. AND JUST FRIGGING FLY.

In a similar vein to one of my earlier posts, I say:

You want a better body? WORK FOR IT.

You want that promotion? WORK FOR IT.

You want to feel better about yourself? DO SOMETHING YOU LOVE AND WORK FOR IT.

It’s all up to you. Everything you want is right within your reach (unless you want a Bengal Tiger or a unicorn or something, then that’s a bit more like a plane ride or a daydream), but you have to be willing to fight for it. Don’t wait for someone to do it for you, because guess what? Unless you’re an infant/toddler/etc., no one is going to.

I realize that this post has had more capitals in it than any other post I’ve written, but I tend to write in a fashion similar to how I speak. Right now, I am screaming at the top of my lungs: GET CAPE. WEAR CAPE. FLY.

It’s all right there. Now what are you going to do with it?

Leave a Reply

