Back From The Road: Part 2–“Letter To The President”

IMG_3258

 

Following a very inspirational trip to Wilmington (seriously–wrote two sets of song lyrics on the drive), with a quick stop in Virginia, we made it to L’argo, Maryland. We checked in to the hotel, got situated, and I went down to the pool, desperate to move my muscles in some form.

After swimming 210 laps, I decided to give the gym a go…in ballet flats, because I’d completely left my sneakers at home. I clocked in about 30 minutes, before going back up to the room and falling asleep.

The next morning, I woke up an hour before my alarm was set to go off, went down to the gym and clocked in an hour, before heading back to the room to get showered, dressed, and ready for the day.

We all loaded into the hotel-provided shuttle at about 9:30, and went to the Metro Station. We got our day-passes, got on the train, and off we went to D.C. (And yes, yes I am immature enough to still laugh at the “Kiss & Ride” signs.)

 

IMG_3542 IMG_3540

 

We were deposited right in front of the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History–yay! Biggest surprise of my life learning that the Smithsonian was free (all 19 museums!). This is also known as a nerd’s greatest dream (a.k.a. my greatest dream. Free museums?! Sign me up!).

 

IMG_3276 IMG_3275 IMG_3274IMG_3272 IMG_3271 IMG_3280 IMG_3281

 

Now, as previously stated, I am a total nerd. I love all things history, art, etc. I am essentially, in heaven in a museum. The Smithsonian, therefore, was like my mecca. With it’s amazing architecture, the exhibitions, and just the overall atmosphere, I was in awe. There were so many exhibitions on my greatest interests–film, radio, WWII, The Civil War,  The Civil Rights Movement, etc. It was truly magic.

 

IMG_3289 IMG_3295

Smithsonian Museum of Natural History–tigers, lions, and bears! Oh my!

IMG_3324 IMG_3326 IMG_3336 IMG_3337 IMG_3340 IMG_3346

Nerd Level: Expert.                   Art Level: Excellence!

IMG_3387

President Roosevelt’s NBC microphone. Woo! Go New Deal!

IMG_3390

The original Kermit Frog. My, what green skin you have!

IMG_3364 IMG_3393

“Look and Think” on a typewriter–symbolism, people! Lit nerds of the world unite!

IMG_3414

Who doesn’t love some President Kennedy history? Watching the video on his assassination and seeing all of the memorabilia was something amazing.

IMG_3421

A piece of the Twin Towers. I totally admit that I, like many other people looking at this display, filled up, near to tears.

IMG_3424

Pieces of the Berlin Wall. One day, I think Berlin is where I will make a stop to see the legitimate chunks and where it once stood.

IMG_3431

Bonnet of a baby freed from the Concentration Camps, signed by all of the soldiers involved. Totally bawled seeing this; thinking of my favorite baby and also how horrific that time was.

IMG_3456

 

Original pin-ups from the war. Beautiful images, and the styles are worthy of envy!

Walking around the city was perfect for me. Living in such a rural area, I love going into the city. I was born in a city, and despite not living there long, my desperation for the occasional cross-walk and people honking at you is strong. The funniest thing for me was when we were waiting for the cross walk. I was wearing denim shorts, pink wedges, and a shirt that said, “LAST NIGHT A BLOGGER SAVED MY LIFE.” I heard a mother and daughter chatting and the daughter said, “She must be a fashion blogger. That’s why she’s dressed like that.” I had to bite my lip from laughing hysterically. Don’t get me wrong, I like fashion as much as the next person, and I love my makeup, but honestly, fashion blogger I am not, as you all know.

Anyway, back to D.C. The architecture there is truly something to marvel at…and I would have marveled a bit more had the buildings not been under so much reconstruction.

IMG_3334 IMG_3333 IMG_3332 IMG_3331 IMG_3329 IMG_3357 IMG_3363 IMG_3361

Of course we made a stop at The White House, where we witnessed a protest. Little Vietnamese woman pacing around waving an American flag and shouting, “God Bless Ah-mer-ica! God Bless President Barrack Ob-bama!” (literally how she pronounced it). My Grandad just kept looking at me and going, “I think she’s a little nuts…”

IMG_3488 IMG_3489 IMG_3495 IMG_3499

Then, of course, we decided to go into a great pub for dinner. The Old Ebbit, which was really nice, and makes an excellent veggie burger. The service was also amazing.

IMG_3508

After that, it was time to go back to the Metro Station, back to the Metro Center, onto the shuttle, and back to the hotel!

IMG_3543

Leave a Reply

