“Fighting For a Chance, I Know Now…”

-“The Kill” by Thirty Seconds To Mars (:30TM)

 

Why did I post that?

Why did I have to expose something like that?

I’ll give you the shortest answer first: “Because I had to.”

 

There comes a time when hiding the truth becomes absolutely pointless. That time usually arrives when you have nothing to lose. At this point, I have nothing to lose. If I’m already being forced to leave, and to not return for ten years, I may as well have my say before I go.

More than that, I’m fighting it.

I’m bringing awareness to the cruelty that has been imposed on me and on my family; the cruel cards dealt to millions of others who have worked tirelessly in an attempt to better their lives.

You don’t want to know? Don’t read.

As Kurt Cobain once said, “If you read, you’ll judge.”

 

Image

 

Many who know me did not know the story. They only knew what I chose to tell them.

As immigrants, we are forced to keep our heads down low and our mouthes zipped shut. How dare we attempt to speak in the Land of The Free! Freedom of Speech is for citizens only!

…and this is where the problem begins.

It happens all over the world, on both a macro- and micro-scale; superiority complexes (Napoleon Complex, Little Man Syndrome, etc.).

It’s got to stop.

No one is better than anyone else.

I can’t believe this has to be reiterated to “leaders” and supposedly intelligent adults.

Everyone is against bullying and the damaging effects it produces, but when do people ever turn around and question if they are the bully?

I was bullied for years, so I know one when I see one. U.S. Immigration–I’m looking at you.

Bullying people to strike some fear, and, in turn, the mute button, happens every day. In the hallway, on the street, and on a grander scale–in the government.

Immigrants need to come together to stand up and say, “This isn’t right, and it isn’t fair.”

There is so much wrong with the world at this point, and it seems like it’s irreversible. But maybe if everyone stopped banging their heads together and started thinking as the solution, instead of for it, things would be solved in a more timely manner.

That is why I wrote the shortest version possible of my story; of my family’s story.

The sad thing is, this is the story for many people.

As children, we are taught that good always triumphs over evil.

But is it true? The things I’ve seen in my eighteen years on the planet would suggest otherwise.

The suspected terrorist gets the citizenship, the bully gets the scholarship, and the Ugly Step-Sister gets the Happily Ever After.

It’s pessimistic, but it’s true.

When, in today’s society, does good triumph over evil?

When do battle lines stop being drawn between allies?

When do the people who want to bring about a positive change get the chance?

When do the people that value something most actually get it?

When will beauty be defined in more realistic terms than the number in a pair of jeans?

More than that, when will people mean what they say, and say what they mean?

I can’t fix the world, but I’ll be damned if I’m not going to say something that might make a difference.

I’ll be damned if I’m going to sit here without a fight and let a corrupt profit-machine strip me of the only home I’ve ever known and do the same thing to countless others.

I will not lay down like a dog who’s just been kicked, and you shouldn’t either.

Stand up. Speak up. Use your voice. Find your gumption.

Leave a Reply

