What’s So Funny ‘Bout…?

Image

 

“What’s so funny ’bout peace, love, and understanding?”

 

If I’m truthful, I could answer that question; it’s not that there’s anything funny about peace, love, and understanding, but there’s definitely something funny about the situations surrounding them.

First off, peace will never happen unless people stand up for the right thing, and not the thing they’re brainwashed into thinking. More than that, when countries finally pull their heads from their own Mariana’s Trench. That would be helpful.

Love is funny in that people do incredibly stupid things for it, whether or not it’s real, and whether or not it is reciprocated. John F. Kennedy once said, “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.” Well, this love has inspired people to defend their country, risking their lives. This is a sacrifice that is more than appreciated, but shouldn’t have to happen, especially considering how little the country gives back to those who have shown their love in multiple ways.

But this happens in relationships all the time, so people don’t say much.

As for understanding, I have to resist the urge to scoff and roll my eyes at this one. Understanding comes with acceptance and tolerance, as well as education, which many people in today’s society are lacking. I could rant and rave about this aspect all day long, but I won’t.

However, I will speak a bit about what this all comes down to: SUPPORT.

How can a country stand if its people tear each other down? How can the world work together if each country is trying to destroy the other?

I find it comical that the place I think I’ve seen the most support in is a personal training gym, where I’ve known the people for a month. Never have I heard people encourage each other quite as much as on that gym floor, whether or not it’s the person you’re working out with.

Now, imagine, for a moment, that this is how the country–heck, the world, even–functioned. For every productive thing, people worked together, or shouted encouragement. Imagine how perfect that would be. Imagine if we stopped tearing each other down and started building each other up.

Imagine, just for a minute, a world where good, honest deeds and work were actually rewarded. I know, it’s the stuff of fairytales and Disney films, but just picture it for a second.

What if the honest people got a break? What if, just maybe, they were treated fairly?

What if the justice system actually held up and brought justice?

Can you imagine a world like that?

It’s a world I wish for every day.

It’s a world where my mom and I would not be penalized for coming to America with the hopes of starting over and finding opportunity.

It’s a world where our hard work would be rewarded, not ignored.

It’s a world where people would be encouraged to do good, because good things weren’t just going to bad people.

I know, this all seems like the naive dreams of a child, but when I think of how this world could be, it breaks my heart to see it the way it is.

I want to leave this Earth knowing that the people left behind are surrounded by positive counterparts; where they’re not judged on skin-tone, sexuality, ethnicity, or financial status.

Unfortunately, that’s not how this world works.

Unfortunately, there are people out there who like things just the way they are and refuse to change.

They keep trying to fit the wrong puzzle piece into the place, and when it doesn’t quite fit, they smash it in, even though the image isn’t right.

Maybe if we took a step back and didn’t do things just for bragging rights, or for our own selfish needs, the puzzle would suddenly become easier, and the pieces would fall into place.

Maybe if we stopped acting like the hammer and started acting like the pieces, this would all be a lot simpler.

All I know is that I imagine a world I’d be proud to call home.

I imagine a world where my words will mean something.

I imagine a world.

I imagine.

Leave a Reply

