“Box of Peaches On The Passenger Side, Free At Last.”

-“Free At Last,” Jeff Black.

Image

Free.

If you look in any dictionary, it will tell you that to be “free” is to not be under someone/something else’s control. It’s to be released from slavery, or confinement.

Now, Webster’s is all fine and well, but how many people honestly believe they’re free?

Oh, no. Here she goes, I can imagine a lot of you thinking.

No, I’m not about to start some sort of anti-government rant.

I am about to breakdown freedom and why it’s all a matter of perspective, much like power.

First and foremost, you only believe you’re free because you’re told you are.

And who are you told by?

Well, a power, of course. But who gave that power the control? You did. We all did. Collectively. Things and people only have power if you believe they have power, subsequently giving what/whoever it is, the utmost control, the superiority.

For example, marriage licenses. At the end of the day, let’s call a spade a spade; it’s a piece of paper.

It only has power because we say, “Oh, this controls those two people now,” but that paper means jack squat physically. It’s the relationship of the two people that means something. Same as money. It’s paper…with a bit of cotton. It has no real value. It’s PAPER…and we let it control us.

Hmm…

How very free we are.

Look at how many of us do things because we’re told we have to. If you were truly free, you wouldn’t have to do anything.

In truth, I haven’t been free in a long time, if ever. I’ve not been allowed to leave the country, or to get a job, or to get a driver’s license, or an ID, all like a normal person in a free country.

However, as time goes on, I think, Well, these people have been given rights, but they are far from free. We are all run by fear.

Fear of pushing the envelope too far.

Fear of not being able to be identified in our little worlds.

Ignorance and fear keeps us tied to our countries, to our states, to our safe little rooms, in our safe little houses, with our thoughts locked away.

Don’t say that, because ____.

Don’t do that, because ____.

Because what?

I thought I was free?

But we are children of our country, of the state. We are taught to be loyal and pledge our allegiance from young ages. We are taught to think that our country is the best, and that we should be proud. And that’s not to say I don’t agree.

I think we should be proud of where we come from, but let’s not get confused with being proud and being ruled.

Governments are in place for a reason.

Laws are in place for a reason.

Unfortunately, people that have no respect for the people that they represent tend to be in power (no, this is not a dig at anyone specific–this is a general statement).

This results in people having to put up with things they don’t like, doing things they don’t want to do, because it will have repercussions.

The sad thing is, if people read the laws or got to better understanding their government (not just listening to FOX or CNN or NBC or whoever), maybe the people would get some of their power, some of their freedom back.

There a million and one ways I could point out how we are not free. One that I’ll probably get further into on another day would be the fact that the LGBT community is not given the same rights throughout as their heterosexual counterparts.

Why?

Because the law doesn’t see it as right. People argue that it goes against the Bible.

But doesn’t the First Amendment of the Constitution say something about “Separation of Church & State“?

If the Bible, which, correct me if I’m wrong, is a writing of the Church, is essentially the reason for this law, does that mean that the law is unconstitutional?

Oh yes, people are so very free.

To me, freedom is being able to live where I want, with who I want; to be able to work, and drive, and present an ID (if I so choose, because if we were really free, we wouldn’t need them–you are but a number), and to be given the rights of my American counterparts. But that’s just it. I am not a child of the State. I am, along with everyone else, a child of the world.

If the world would just be a fair and just parent, I’m sure we’d have a brilliant, sit-around-the-table, family-game-night relationship.

But it’s not.

I don’t mean this to come off as a pro-anarchy or anti-government rant by any stretch of the imagination, but merely a bit of insight in showing that we are all not as free as we’d like to believe.

Freedom goes hand in hand with gumption.

The passion to stand up for that freedom goes hand in hand with gumption.

No one is going to defend your freedoms or your rights (also, these things are allowed to you, or given). You have to do it for yourself.

Don’t be extremist about it, but be adults.

I am so tired of seeing/hearing adults acting like children.

For goodness’ sake, just be grown-ups. SPEAK. LISTEN. COMPROMISE.

At this point, I look at the world around me and I just think, “Jeez…is this seriously what my kids will be inheriting? Is this what I want to raise children in or leave behind for another generation? A legacy of dishonesty and separation?”

We are not all puzzle pieces that belong in separate boxes.

We are not competing pictures.

We are all from the same puzzle. Now we just need to get put together.

We are the pieces. We don’t need to put the world back together. We need to come together.

While you all ponder what I mean, rant about what I’ve said, or even send me hate mail, I’m going to go and enjoy a cup of tea, because that’s what I want to do. TSoG

Leave a Reply

