But After A While, You Realize, Time Flies…

“But after a while
you realize time flies.
And the best thing that you can do
is take whatever comes to you.
‘Cuz time flies.”

-“Time Flies” by Porcupine Tree

 

So I’m awful at this.

I’ve been gone for a while, working on Planet Stereo, and on me.

If you want the whole truth, I’ve been doing Insanity for a Tumblr challenge. I have been blogging it almost every single day. I know, I know: “Oh, you can blog that daily, but you can’t blog on here?”

That’s not it.

I just found a fitness community on there that I love being a part of.

I am on Day 46 of this Insanity challenge. There are 62/63 days total, and I have a confession to make:

I never thought I’d do it.

 

In all honesty, I used to see the infomercials as a kid and see Shaun T going for it, with random fitness models by his side. Even as a kid, I used to think I’d never be able to do it.

Had you asked me a few months ago, I would have probably laughed in your face and told you not to joke.

But maybe that’s what finding your gumption is about; maybe you’re supposed to find yourself while doing the things you never thought you would.

So I started to think about all the things I’ve done that I never dreamed were possible, and I realized that accomplishing these “impossible” things has shaped me into who I am.

From writing my first novel to starting my company, or even just reaching the deadline for NaNoWriMo, have helped me learn more about myself than the four “Golden Years” of high school or any other romanticized life experience.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned recently, it’s that you make time for the things you want to.

Everyone’s biggest complaint, when it comes to anything (cleaning, fitness, etc.), is that they don’t have time.

But you do.

That hour you spend on Facebook? Cut it down to five minutes, or how about an hour a week instead of an hour a day?

That reality show you actually hate but still watch? Cut it out! See that hour you sit staring at the screen and wasting time? You could be working out or teaching yourself the guitar, or writing a novel!

I can’t believe it took me so long to figure it out, but you really do make time for what you want.

The fitness models, the actors/actresses, the writers, the businessman, the people you envy most in the world all have something in common with you: They, too, only have twenty-four hours a day.

No one has a seventy-hour day while you only get twenty-four.

Some people just spend their time a little more wisely.

So why don’t we?

Leave a Reply

